A no-go theorem for exotic alternatives to black holes as LIGO/Virgo sources

Five of the ground-breaking gravitational wave detections by the LIGO/Virgo collaboration have been interpreted as black hole collisions forming a more massive black hole. It is hard to demonstrate conclusively that these objects are indeed black holes, and there is a lively debate on the intriguing possibility that other, more exotic alternatives could explain the observations. In an article published in Physical Review Letters, Gr@v members P. Cunha and C.

Alexandre Pombo is now a Master

Alexandre Pombo successfully finished his Physics M.Sc. at Aveiro University, on October 10th 2017, by defending a thesis with title "Q-balls spectroscopy and construction of boson stars". This thesis was supervised by Gr@v researchers and examined by Prof. Yves Brihaye, from the University of Mons, Belgium. Well done Alexandre!

Helgi Rúnarsson Ph.D. exam

Helgi Rúnarsson successfully defended his PhD thesis "Kerr black holes with scalar and Proca hair". The exam took place at the University of Aveir, on October 9th 2017. The thesis was supervised by Gr@v members C. Herdeiro and E. Radu and former member J. C. Degollado, now at UNAM (Mexico). Congratulations Helgi!

New group members

Valério Ribeiro [FCT assistant researcher, PhD 2011 Liverpool John Moores University, UK], Alan Alves [Post-doc, PhD 2015, U. São Paulo, Brazil], Tjarda Boekholt [Post-doc, PhD 2015, Leiden U., Netherlands], João Oliveira [PhD student in collaboration with U. Minho, M.Sc 2016, U.