100 years of Strong Gravity, 5 years of Gr@v

Event type
Event date
Physics Aphitheatre
Ends on

On November 25th 1915, Albert Einstein presented to the Prussian Academy of Sciences, in Berlin, a paper with title "Die Feldgleichungen der Gravitation", with the final form of his field equations. This concluded his formulation of the General Theory of Relativity, the relativistic theory of gravity, which revolutionized our understanding of space, time and the Universe.

To celebrate the centenial of General Relativity and simulataneously celebrate five years of the Gravitation Group at the University of Aveiro (Gr@v), established in the Fall 2010, Gr@v will organize a two days event, on 25-26 November 2015. This event will also mark the closing of the "Numerical Relativity and High Energy Physics" Marie Curie IRSES action, an international partnership which was coordinated by our group that ran over the period 2012-2015. Finally, the event will also be integrated in the IDPASC doctoral programme.



Amanda Lima de Almeida (U. Federal Pará, Brazil)
Carolina Benone (U. Federal Pará, Brazil)
Yves Brihaye (U. Mons, Belgium)
Eliel Camargo-Molina (U. Lund)
Flávio Coelho (Aveiro U.)
Alexandre Correia (Aveiro U.)
Raul Costa (Aveiro U.)
Pedro Cunha (Aveiro U. and IST-Lisbon)
Juan Carlos Degollado Daza (UNAM, Mexico)
Konstantinos Dialektopoulos (U. Crete, Greece)
Jorge Delgado (Aveiro U.)
Jaouad El Falaki (Abdelmalek Essaâdi U., Marocco)
Rodrigo Rocha de França (U. Federal Pará, Brazil)
Jai Grover (ESA)
Carlos Herdeiro (Aveiro U.)
Marcel Krause (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)

Luiz Carlos dos Santos Leite (U. Federal Pará, Brazil)
José Sande Lemos (CENTRA and IST-Lisbon)
Caio Macedo (CENTRA and IST-Lisbon)
António Morais (Aveiro U.)
Ednilton Oliveira (U. Federal Pará, Brazil)
Leandro Oliveira (U. Federal Pará, Brazil and U. York, U.K.)
António Onofre (U. Minho)
Mário Pimenta (IST-Lisbon)
Alexandre Pombo (Aveiro U.)
Eugen Radu (Aveiro U.)
João Rosa (Aveiro U.)
Helgi Runarsson (Aveiro U.)
Jose Blázquez-Salcedo (Oldenburg U., Germany)
Marco Sampaio (Aveiro U.)
Nuno André Santos (IST-Lisbon)
Roman Pasechnik (Lund U., Sweeden)
Rui Santos (CFTC and ISEL)
Ema Valente (Aveiro U.)
Mengjie Wang (Aveiro U.)
Miguel Zilhão (Institute of Cosmos Sciences, U. Barcelona, Spain)



Wednesday, 25 November 2015

Strong Gravity Session (Physics amphitheatre)

9H15-9H30 - Meeting opening
9H30-10H30 - J. P. S. Lemos: "General Relativity 100 years: from Einstein to Portugal and Mira Fernandes"
10H30-11H00 - Coffee Break
11H00-11H20 - C. Herdeiro: "Quick overview of Gr@v"
11H20-11H40 - E. Radu: "Kerr black holes with scalar hair"
11H40-12H00 - M. Zilhão: "New Frontiers in Numerical Relativity"
12H00-12H20 - J. C. Degollado: "Charged scalar fields around charged black holes in a cavity"
12H20-12H40 - J. Grover: "Gravitational Physics at ESA"
12H45 - Lunch

Astrophysics and Cosmology Session (Physics amphitheatre)
14H45 - 15H45 - Alexandre Correia: "Spin-orbit coupling in Astrophysics"
15H45 - 16H15 - João Rosa: "Cosmology at Gr@v"
16H15 - 16H45 - Coffee Break
16H45 - 17H15 - Roman Pasechnik: "Yang Mills condensates in cosmology and dark energy"

20H00 - Meeting Dinner

Thursday, 26 November 2015
This session will be held at the amphitheatre of the Departamento de Ambiente e ordenamento do território (DAO). This is building number 7 in this map.

High Energy Physics Session
9H30-9H45 - M. Sampaio: "Quick overview of particle physics phenomenology at Gr@v"
9H45-10H45 - A. Onofre: "From top quark to Higgs physics at the LHC"
10H45-11H15 - Coffee Break
11H15-11H45 - R. Santos: "2HDMs as benchmark models at the LHC"
11H45-12H05 - E. Camargo-Molina: "On the road to a trinification GUT"
12H05-12H25 - A. Morais: "Describing present data with A to Z flavoured Pati-Salam"
12H25-12H45 - R. Costa "The complex singlet extension of the SM and the LHC run 2"
12H45 - Closing of the meeting



Pedro Avelino (U. Porto)
Alexandre Correia (U. Aveiro)
Carlos Herdeiro (U. Aveiro)
José Sande Lemos (IST-Lisbon)
António Onofre (U. Minho)
Mário Pimenta (IST-Lisbon)


Flávio Coelho
Alexandre Correia
Carlos Herdeiro (herdeiro@ua.pt)
António Morais
Eugen Radu
João Rosa
Marco Sampaio


Poster (printable pdf)