Gravitation @ Aveiro University

Shinji Hirano and Yuki Sato visit

Shinji Hirano and Yuki Sato, from Nagoya University and the Niels Bohr Institute, visited our group in early March to continue developing, with Gr@v members, a new model of gravity ("n-DBI gravity" [1], [2]) recently proposed.

Jai Grover and João Rosa join Gr@v

Two new postdoctoral researchers, Jai Grover (Ph.D. Cambridge University, UK, 2011) and João Rosa (Ph.D. Oxford University, UK, 2010) will join our research team, in the area of relativistic gravitation and high energy physics, in 2012. Welcome Jai and João!

Miguel Zilhão moves to RIT

Miguel Zilhão, who wil be finishing his Ph.D. in the summer of 2012, has taken a post-doctoral offer from the Center for Computational Relativity and Gravitation (CCRG) at the Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT),  a world leading group in the area of Numerical Relativity. Congratulations Miguel! 

NR/HEP: roadmap for the future

In the summer 2011, an exciting workshop took place in the beautiful island of Madeira, where a small number of top international experts in the fields of numerical relativity (NR) and various aspects of high energy physics (HEP), exchanged viewpoints and expertises in order to create synergies between these two communities. As an outcome of the fruitful round tables and discussions, a white paper was written.

Why does Mercury spin as it does?

The rotation of Mercury is presently trapped in a 3/2 spin-orbit resonance. This means that the planet rotates three times about its spin axis for every two orbits about the Sun. However, recent observations with the Messenger spacecraft have shown that it was not always so. 

"Numerical Relativity and High Energy Physics" network



The European Commission Research Executive Agency approved an International Research Staff Exchange Scheme (IRSES) Marie Curie action on "Numerical Relativity and High Energy Physics" (NRHEP), within the FP7 People Programme.

IV Black Holes Workshop 2011

From astrophysics to high-energy physics, from information theory to quantum gravity, black holes have acquired an ever increasing role in fundamental physics, and are now part of the terminology of many important branches of observational, theoretical and mathematical physics. This workshop aims at bringing together experts about black holes in all their aspects.

Nobel prize of physics 2011 goes to Cosmology

Nobel prize of physics 2011 goes to Cosmology

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2011 was divided, one half awarded to Saul Perlmutter, the other half jointly to Brian P. Schmidt and Adam G. Riess "for the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the Universe through observations of distant supernovae".

Read the Royal Swedish Academy Press Release.

Faster than light neutrinos??


The OPERA experiment recently made a remarkable claim: neutrinos can travel faster than the speed of light. Can this be true?

See the physics forum physics4me for some tentative explanations using exotic physics. One uses work of Gr@v researchers!

Syndicate content
Gr@v - Gravitation @ Aveiro University - 2010-2017